MyOffice

How to create and share diaries on mobiles

In this walk-through, we'll show you how to create, share, and administer diaries using your smartphone. For the purposes of the exercise, we'll be using the Android app. The process of creating, sharing, and administering diaries using the iPhone app is very similar.

Step 1 - Create a Diary

Open the MyOffice app whilst connected to the internet. From the main menu, touch "Admin", then "Diaries" in the admin menu to open up the Diary Admin activity. If you are unable to see the "Diaries" admin option then you lack Diary Admin permission.

Main Menu

Admin Menu

Diary Admin

Your Diary Admin activity will look something like the screenshot above on the right hand side, with the obvious difference that yours will contain different diaries. All Diary Admin functions are performed through this activity, so it's well worth remembering how to get to it if you're likely to be altering your diaries using a smartphone on a regular basis. It should be noted that Diary Admin is easier to accomplish with the Windows or Mac apps, although all functionality associated with Diary Admin is available on Android and iOS.

To create a diary, press the plus sign in the top right corner of the "Diary Admin" activity. The following activity - the Diary Details dialog - will now appear.

Now touch the "Name" field and enter your prefered name for your new diary. If you want to set a timezone for this diary, touch the "Time Zone" field and choose the required timezone - leaving the "Time Zone" field unchanged will mean the diary is displayed in the default time zone for your device. To set the default colour for appointments entered in this diary, touch "No Colour Assigned" and selected your prefered colour. Once you're happy with your diary's settings, press "Save" to create the diary.

The diary you've created will now appear in the admin diaries list. In order to use the diary on your mobile device, you'll need to go back to the main diaries list, choose "Select Diaries to Sync", and choose the dates between which you wish to sync the diary.

The diary you've created is set up to allow all users on your account to have read and write access. This means that they can view and edit its contents. If you want to restrict which of your account's users have access to this diary, proceed to Step 2.

Step 2 - Controlling Diary Access Permissions

The diary we've just created has been set up to be available to all users on the account as a read and write diary. This means all users on the account and create, edit, and delete appointments in the diary, and also read it's contents. Now let's restrict which members of the account can view the diary, and also which users can alter it's contents.

If you're not already viewing the diary admin activity, navigate back to it using the instrutions above. Once you're there, open the diary we've just created for editing by pressing on the diary in the list then pressing the "Edit" button.

You'll see an item in the diary detailed called "Permissions" with the words "Read Write for whole account" next to it. This tells us that all users in the account have read write access to the diary. Tap this text and the heading "Permissions" will appear, plus a list of users will appear in the diary details towards the bottom of the screen. The users will have traffic lights next to their names, all of which are currently set to red. Scroll the screen down a little bit at this point if you need to - this will let you see more of your users.

To change the permission for a given user, tap the user's name in the list. Tapping the name will toggle permissions for the user in question between "Not visible to user" (denoted by a red traffic light), "Read only for user" (denoted by a yellow traffic light), and "Read Write for user" (denoted by a green traffic). Keep tapping users until you've set up the permissions you require. Once you're happy with the permissions you've assigned, press the "Save" button to save the changes you've made to the diary.

In the example above, we've assigned "Read Write" permission to the users "Admin" and "Elizabeth Carson". This means that Admin and Elizabeth Carson will be able to not only see the contents of the diary, but also alter them. "Jack Merton" and "Josh Walker" have been set up with "Read Only" permission, and so are able to see the contents of the diary but are unable to alter them. The diary is invisible to the rest of the users on the account.